Floor/Room: N2 10, Engineering North, North Terrace

Contact Information

Call: +61(08)831 39245


Volker Hessel


University of Adelaide

Prof. dr. Volker Hessel studied chemistry at Mainz University (PhD in organic chemistry, 1993). In 1994 he entered the Institut für Mikrotechnik Mainz GmbH (1996: group leader microreaction technology). In 2002, Prof. Hessel was appointed Vice Director R&D at IMM and in 2007 as Director R&D. In 2005 and 2011, Prof. Hessel was appointed as part-time and full professor at Eindhoven University of Technology, respectively, for the chair of “Micro Flow Chemistry and Process Technology”. He is honorary professor at TU Darmstadt, Germany, and guest professor at Kunming University of Science and Technology, China. Currently, Prof. Volker is the Deputy Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences (ECMS), The University of Adelaide.

Prof. Dr. Hessel is (co-)author of more than 380 peer-reviewed publications and 10 books. He received the AIChE Award “Excellence in Process Development Research” in 2007, the ERC Advanced Grant “Novel Process Windows” in 2010, and the IUPAC ThalesNano Prize in Flow Chemistry in 2017. In the same year, he got granted as coordinator the FET OPEN project ONE-FLOW. He is Editor-in-Chief of the journal “Green Processing and Synthesis”. He was authority in the 35-man teamed Enquete Commission “Future of the Chemical Industry” of the parliament of Germany’s state Nordrhein-Westfalia and is advisor for GSK for the Green Chemical Manufacturing Programme in Singapore.

Awards & Prizes

  • 2017
    European Research Council Proof of Concept Grant “PICASCO”
  • 2016
    FET OPEN Grant European Research Council “ONE-FLOW” (€ 3.9 Mio total)
  • 2016
    IUPAC ThalesNano Flow Chemistry Award
  • 2014
    Chemical Engineering Science Award “Top Cited Paper 2011 and 2012”
  • 2012
    Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Award “Top 25 Cited Author 2010 – 2011”
  • 2011
    Advanced Research Grant of the European Research Council “Novel Process Windows” (€ 2.5 Mio)
  • 2007
    AIChE Award “Excellence in Process Development Research”
  • 2007
    Chemical Engineering Science Award “Most Cited Paper 2003 – 2006”
  • 2006
    Patent Award „Erfinderpreis 2006“ of State Rhineland-Palatinate for IMM patent "Trennschichtmischer".